Raonaid

Science, writing, craft and joy

Art in Cardiff

Art is everywhere right now, at least in my life. I bought my first piece of actual art yesterday. It’s a depressed pigeon. I just felt rather a lot of affection to it so decided to add it to my art collection, which until this point included a painting of Cardiff Bay at night I won in a raffle to raise money for ACE Cardiff.  I was told the artists name but my memory is like a sieve, however it was signed MP.

Depressed Pigeon by MP

Depressed Pigeon by MP

Cardiff Bay at Night

Cardiff Bay at Night

Before I bought my Depressed Pigeon I stumbled upon an art exhibit in Cardiff city center. I mostly just went in because I felt sorry for the woman handing out leaflets who almost no one was paying attention to. So I headed down to see some art. It was an amazing exhibit by chinese artists looking at the oppression of Falun Gong practitioners by the Chinese Communist party.  I learned a lot from attending the exhibit and I intend to look into the subject more. It’s going to be that the Capitol Centre until the 6th of November and I would highly reccomend people in Cardiff visit it. Not just for the political message but also very beautiful art.

Who I Am by Xiqiang Dong

Who I Am by Xiqiang Dong

 

Determination Under Pressure by  Qing Xin

Determination Under Pressure by Qing Xin

 

I also bought my first art books in a charity shop for £2 each. They show amazing urban art for Brazil and worldwide.

My First Art Books

My First Art Books

 

And finally last week was Made in Roath festival which is a local festival with loads of art, music and literature events around Roath, Cardiff. This has resulted in lots of new street art all over Roath. My favourite is a dragon on the side of the Poets Corner pub. I will probably post more about Made in Roath later as I attended a few literature events and had a midnight stroll to look at a skip.

 

Urban Art

Urban Art

Urban Art

Urban Art

The Dragon on the Poets Corner

The Dragon on the Poets Corner

 

 

3 comments on “Art in Cardiff

  1. Muzz
    October 27, 2013

    The urban art is great especially the dragon…..very welsh! Like the depressed pigeon.

  2. artofstumbling
    October 28, 2013

    Where is the one with the body parts? x

    • raonaid
      October 29, 2013

      They are just of City Road around Roath….there is an amazing skull and a woman’s face I want to take some photos of. I may try and borrow H’s awesome camera and have a wander around Roath. xx

Leave a Reply

An Ex-academic follower of fashion

Proud ex-PhD student looking for the next adventure. Loves public engagement, running, yoga and genetics. Hates boring conference outfits. Happens to have clinical depression.

Forever Theme Test

Just another WordPress site

A Word Of Substance

Objectification at its best

willdeanford's Blog

My verse/story/film stuff

halfmoon workshops

inspired by specific natural and/or urban locations across the U.K.

Martin Zaltz Austwick

Social Physicist, Podcaster, Musician

ClassPiano

Free Sheet Music Composed by Regan Starr

Live to Write - Write to Live

Professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Mommy Man

Loveable misanthrope, gay superdad.

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

Out of a fired ship...

Just another WordPress.com site

Songbirds Choir

The only choir for Lesbian, Bi and Trans* women in Wales

Strictly Holistic

Bringing balance to your busy world

YOU'RE JUST A DUMBASS

Want to date smarter?

Writing on the Pages of Life

Discoveries along the writing path

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

